Databases

Your library provides you with access to thousands of magazines, journals, maps, and newspapers (much in full text) unavailable through Google. We have also provide links to a number of free online sources of useful information. All resources are grouped according to subjects listed below. For more help, contact a librarian at 541-247-7246.



GENERAL REFERENCE

Answerland
Submit your questions and get answers to all kinds of questions, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression in digital form.

Oregon Authors
Oregon Authors is a bibliography of works by authors residing in Oregon, which includes full bibliographic data, as well as ordering information, awards, published review sources, reader reviews, reading level, genre, and other information as appropriate.

InfoTrac General OneFile
A good starting place general research topics. This collection includes over 6,500 publications with full-text articles, over 124,000 NPR audio files complete with broadcast transcripts, all the Fodor’s travel guides from 2006 and 2007, links to over 5,000 video files including shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News, NRO TV and Meet the Press and over 3,000 other magazines.

U.S. Census Reporter
This tool makes it easier to use information from the U.S. Census bureau. Place profiles and comparison pages provide a friendly interface for navigating data, including visualizations for a more useful first look.

Virtual Reference Library
A collection of encyclopedias and other sources for multidisciplinary research.

Wikipedia
A collaboratively edited, multilingual, free Internet encyclopedia with over 30 million articles in 287 languages, including over 4.4 million in English. Wikipedia is the largest and most popular online general reference work. Because anyone can edit Wikipedia content, users should take care to fact check information derived from this source.

WorldCat
Locate bibliographic information for books, articles, and more in this shared catalog of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.

Return to Subject Listing

MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS

Google News Archive
Searches back issues of selected newspapers and magazines.

Guide to Researching Oregon Newspapers

Historic Oregon Newspapers
Access ofver 500,000 pages of complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP).

InfoTrac Newsstand
Search newspaper articles instantly by title, headline, date, or newspaper section — a one-stop source for the day’s news and searchable archives. Includes a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers going back to 1980.

Oregon Local Newspapers
Links to 50 local newspapers throughout Oregon, from Albany’s Democrat Herald to Woodburn’s Independent.

The Oregonian via OregonLive.com
News from The Oregonian‘s website going back five years.

Popular Magazines
Search for and read articles online from popular magazines like National Geographic, The New Yorker, Vogue, Fortune, etc.

Return to Subject Listing

KIDS, STUDENTS, & TEACHING

Kids InfoBits (K-5)
This portal is designed for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5, and covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Oregon School Library Information System (OSLIS)
OSLIS is a K-12 web portal providing access to quality licensed databases within an information literacy framework. OSLIS is supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act and administered by the Oregon State Library.

Learning Express (All Ages)
LearningExpress Library helps students and adult learners improve the skills required for academic and career success and features practice sets and tutorials to develop skills in math, reading, writing, and basic sciences. Popular software tutorials, Internet instruction, and basic computer instruction are also included. Some of the practice tests include GED, COOP, HSPT, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT/NMSQT, ACCUPLACER, ASSET, and COMPASS, career certification tests such as NCLEX-RN, Praxis I® and II, and more.

InfoTrac Junior Edition (Middle School)
With over 330 titles, this online collection of periodicals is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government history, sports, and more.

Research in Context (Middle School and High School)
An interdisciplinary research tool spanning literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. Covers the most-studied topics—cultures, government, people, U.S. history, sports, world history, geography, literature, science, and social issues – including nearly 300 topic pages and overviews on the subjects and social issues. Aligned to national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science.

Student Resource in Context (High School and Middle School)
This online resource provides a premium selection of reference material with more than 1,100 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia and includes hours of video and audio clips and podcasts.

U.S. History in Context (High & Middle School)
More than 185,000 reference articles and over 600,000 periodical articles from magazines; galleries with over 73,000 images and 1,500 seals, maps, and flags; more than 9,100 veiwpoint essays and nearly 5,000 primary documents; and videos and audio from NBC, NPR and other reliable sources.

InfoTrac Student Edition (High School)
Now with over 1,100 titles, this online collection is designed for high-school students with access to indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Academic OneFile (College and College-bound Students)
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, this collection of millions of articles is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (College and College-bound Students)
A one-stop source for information on today’s hottest social issues featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.

Educator’s Reference Complete (Teaching)
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator, from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator’s Reference Complete is the perfect complement for any library that utilizes the ERIC database, because it provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. This database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty — such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. This collection also covers issues in administration, funding and policy.

Return to Subject Listing

ART & MUSIC

Fine Arts and Music Collection
With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in this online resource (such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM), this collection will provide you with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Return to Subject Listing

BUSINESS

Business Economics and Theory
This online collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on theoretical topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research.

Business Collection
Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Business Insights: Global
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale’s core business collection. Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.

Cypress Resume Builder
Effortlessly create professional resumes in minutes!

Glassdoor
A website to help people everywhere find jobs and companies they love. Glassdoor holds a growing database of 6 million company reviews, CEO approval ratings, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits reviews, office photos and more. Add to that millions of the latest jobs — no other community allows you to see which employers are hiring, what it’s really like to work or interview there according to employees, and how much you could earn.

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry – including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.

Small Business Resource Center
Search this online resource to learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and websites.

Return to Subject Listing

COMMUNICATIONS

Communications and Mass Media Collection
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Return to Subject Listing

DRIVERS’ ED

Driving-Tests.org
Everything you need to know to get your driver’s license in Oregon including practice permit tests and manuals for regular licenses, commercial licenses, and motorcycle licenses.

Return to Subject Listing

ENERGY & ENVIRONMENT

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Provides robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy through access to nearly 200 journals.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)
This resource offers authoritative content on green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.

Return to Subject Listing

FOOD

Culinary Arts Collection
The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Return to Subject Listing

FOREIGN LANGUAGES

¡Informe!
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Hundreds of periodicals and journals, including Latin American Research Review, NACLA Report on the Americas, La Opinión, National Geographic en Español, Epoca and many others. This collection also includes more than 15 key Latin American newspapers with detailed coverage of news, politics, current events, culture, entertainment, health, literature, science and more.

Return to Subject Listing

GOVERNMENT

U.S. Government Manual
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This special edition of the Federal Register is currently updated to provide comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.  The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.

Return to Subject Listing

HEALTH & MEDICINE

FamilyDoctor.org
This website is operated by the American Academy of Family Physicians, a national medical organization. All of the information on this site has been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals. You can search health information for women, men, seniors, parents, and children in English and Spanish.

Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module
This online collection compiles medical reference information for all levels of health research. It includes information from nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos, over 2,200 general interest publications, and many health reference titles. It also incorporates articles on alternative topics such as herbal remedies, yoga, homeopathy, midwifery, and chiropractic.

Health Reference Center Academic
This collection provides access to 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health-related organizations. You can search health topics and drugs and supplements. MedlinePlus also has an encyclopedia with pictures, online tutorials, a medical dictionary, and surgical videos.

NIH Senior Health
Created by the National Institute on Aging and the National Library of Medicine, NIHSeniorHealth is a website for older adults. It contains aging-related health information that is easily accessible for family members and friends seeking reliable, easy to understand health information. Online videos are also available here.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection
All aspects of the Nursing profession — from direct patient care to health care administration — are covered in this collection of nearly 400 titles.

Nursing Resource Center
Designed for nursing students, this online resource brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results, and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement core encyclopedia texts.

Psychology Collection
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops through access to 200 full-text periodicals.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMSA)
SAMHSA is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. This site offers resources to learn about behavioral health and find assistance.

Return to Subject Listing

HOME & GARDEN

Agriculture Collection
With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of nearly 200 titles, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry — from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection
Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.

Home Improvement Collection
This collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles for hobbyists and professional carpenters alike includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.

Return to Subject Listing

LAW

Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO)
This service contains a large number of NOLO legal reference books and various legal forms. NOLO publications are books on common legal topics aimed at non-lawyers. The NOLO books are a good resource for people looking to get a handle on common legal problems.

Criminal Justice Collection
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals.

Legal Aid Services of Oregon
A non-profit organization that provides representation on civil cases to low-income clients throughout Oregon.

LegalTrac
Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, this online resource provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals.

Library of Congress – Guide to Law Online
Includes free full-text access to: United States Code 1925-1988 (includes content up to 1993); United States Reports v. 1-542 (1754-2004); Code of Federal Regulations (1938-1995); the Federal Register v. 1-58 (1936-1993); and more.

Oregon State Bar – Legal Links
Connect with information and resources for legal help in Oregon.

OregonLawHelp.org
OregonLawHelp.org is a guide to legal information and free civil legal services for low-income persons and seniors in Oregon.

Return to Subject Listing

MAPS

American Memory Map Collection
Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. View, navigate, zoom, and download.

David Rumsey Historic Maps Collection
Over 42,000 rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials including historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa.

GeoData.gov
A part of the initiative to make federal government information more transparent and available, GeoData offers geospatial maps from across several agencies. Included are soil surveys, USGS geologic maps, EPA Cleanup sites and more.

Google Maps
View maps, satellite views, and get driving directions.

MapStats
FedStats compiles data from more than 100 federal agencies and presents it in one searchable site. It includes regional demographic information, health, income, agriculture, energy, and many other statistics.

National Map
Copyright-free maps that you create yourself using layers of information provided by 20+ federal organizations including USGS. Save, print, or share.

ODOT City Maps
The Oregon Department of Transportation provides up-to-date maps of towns and cities in Oregon.

The Oregon Map (ORMAP)
A statewide property tax parcel base map that is digital, publicly accessible, and continually maintained.

Return to Subject Listing

OREGON HISTORY

Northwest Digital Archives
A tool for discovering archival materials in libraries and museums throughout the Pacific Northwest.

The Oregon Blue Book
The official state directory and fact book about all levels of government in Oregon.

The Oregon Digital Library
A collection of digital resources from institutions across the state of Oregon.

The Oregon Encyclopedia
An online encyclopedia of Oregon historical topics.

Oregon Health & Science University Digital Commons
Explore online exhibits and digital collections relating to the history of health in Oregon.

Oregon Parks and Recreation Department History Resources

Southern Oregon Digital Archives
A collection of digitized books, pamphlets, maps, and reports relating to the history of Southern Oregon.

Return to Subject Listing

TAX ASSISTANCE

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for the United States
Includes federal tax forms for download, and links to assistance with filling out tax forms.

Oregon Department of Revenue
Includes state tax forms for download, and links to assistance with filling out tax forms.

Return to Subject Listing

TECHNOLOGY

Computers and Technology
Use this collection to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Return to Subject Listing

TELEPHONE DIRECTORIES & MORE

Internet 800 Directory
Nationwide toll-free directory searches by name or type of business.

AnyWho
Efficient nationwide directory has white and yellow pages, reverse lookup.

myTELUS
Yellow and white pages for Canada.

Canada Toll Free
Toll free directory for Canada by business name or keywords.

1-800-GOOG-411
Google’s free 411 tool is usable from your telephone or handheld device.

National Do Not Call Registry
Rid your life of telephonic pests.

Oregon Do Not Call page
Oregon is part of the national registry, but we have our own complaint form.

ABTolls
Rate and plan comparisons, consumer info about bills, providers and scams.

CellReception.com
Coverage ratings for providers by zip code; cell phone towers mapped by city.

Return to Subject Listing

 

to add… primary source tools, book reviews, wolfram alpha,